The Southern California Blues Society proudly presents a massive Battle of the 20 blues bands on the second Saturday in November, every year, for the past 18 years. 

Usually this takes place in Long Beach but over the last 18 years it has been in 7 different venues.  If your band is interested in competing please email us at   The slots fill up very fast every year.    When we receive your email we will forward you registration information.

On show day, your band will perform a 14 minute set.  You should play one slow, one fast, and one medium tempo blues song.    Each year the winner gets $2,000 to be used towards expenses related to competing later at the IBC in Memphis, an annual events hosted and produced by the Blues Foundation.  You may check out their criteria at 

Previous winners include:

2019 - Mar'Ja & The Hot Links (Band), Mr. So & So (Solo/Duo), Austin Thomason (Youth Showcase)

2018 - Lenny "Fuzzy" Rankins

2017 - Celso Salim

2016 - Shawn Jones

2015 - Celso Salim

2014 - Nico Wayne Toussaint

2013 - Gregg Wright

2012 - Sista Jean's Blues Machine

2011 - Lightnin' Willie & The Poor Boys

2010 - Gregg Wright

2009 - Leff Rogers

2008 - Phil Gates

2007 - Andy Walo

2006 - winner unrecorded

2005 - winner unrecorded

2004 - Zac Harmon